Thanksgiving, Part 2: Play

I’m having trouble staying up to date with the big moments that have happened throughout the past month. Busy, busy, busy. I’m working backwards here, and then need to fast forward to my first Christmas celebration, then to the last day of school. Lots of big moments the past few weeks.

I was CRUSHED when I found out that the First Grade Play was on Thanksgiving. I always knew I would have to work on Thanksgiving, but I still wanted to celebrate with friends after school and have a moment to breathe and skype with my family. The First Grade Play–this year titled Newton’s Multicultural Market–is a year-long process. The kids “write” the script, choose their characters, “design” their costumes, memorize their lines, and learn blocking. It’s a big, big deal, and we spent most of November rehearsing, glittering the scenery, and talking about the play.

It turned out to be a hit. I was SO proud of my kiddos and their hard work. They looked adorable. Our play was about animals who went to a Junk Food Market and got sick from the unhealthy food. Then, healthy food arrived at the Market; the animals ate it and they got energy and strength. Then they celebrate by dancing. Super, super cute.

So instead of eating turkey and mash potatoes surrounded by aunts, uncles, and cousins, I spent the day with 23 first graders dressed as animals and chefs dancing to Cotton Eyed Joe and Firework by Katie Perry. I spent the day with the kids who have grown to be my family, and I am so grateful for each and every one of them.

Here’s some of the cuteness:

IMG_5014

IMG_5004

IMG_4995

IMG_4986

IMG_4982

Leave a Reply

