Taking Off

So…you may or may not know that I am moving to Lima, Peru on Wednesday.  I have accepted a position as an elementary school teacher at Newton College, an international school in a “suburb” of Lima.  My students start school March 5, as Newton follows the traditional Peruvian school calendar of March through December.

When people ask me how I am feeling, my initial reaction is to say shock.  I am shocked that this move is only days away.  I am shocked that I am actually doing something that I have always dreamed of doing.  I am shocked that my belongings fit into four duffel bags.  And I am shocked that I have a salary and benefits.

Besides shock, I am very excited and also nervous.  Here’s a list of reasons why:

Reasons Why I Could Not Be More Excited to Move to Lima:

  • To enjoy summer the majority of the year.  And to enjoy the beauty of living next to the Pacific Ocean.
  
  • To have my own classroom and to work at Newton.  I have been dreaming of being a teacher for as long as I can remember.  Newton seems like a great place to begin my career.  I am looking forward to being a part of the IB curriculum (PYP) and working witha diverse staff.
  • After (oh so patiently) enduring essentially a year of Long Distance, I am so excited to be 11 miles, compared to 3782.07 miles, away from Ronald.  I am incredibly blessed to be starting a new job and living in a new city supported by a man who constantly challenges me to love Jesus more.  We have a long list of actual dates we want to go on (compared to skype dates)!
  

Reasons Why I am Nervous to Move to Lima:

  • Even though one wonderful long distance relationship is ending, I have many long distance relationships that are just beginning.  I am so sad to be leaving my mom, dad, and sister and will miss them terribly.  I get the saddest when I’m thinking about missing friends’ weddings and promotions and moves, but I know that God will finish the work that he has started (Philippians 1:6).
  • Target, Amazon.com, and Hulu and watching Parenthood with my family.  Oh those little conveniences that we so often take for granted…

Thank you for your thoughts and prayers as I leave!  I could not do it without you.

3 thoughts on “Taking Off

  1. Oh Catherine. I am so excited for you and for everything this means. So special for me reading this blog, knowing you and knowing where you are going. Recognizing the 11 mile google map, knowing how much Ronald does make you love Jesus and knowing all the people that love you where you are going. I also know it will be…hard leaving the States. For sure. I will be thinking of you and praying for you often. And I know I will get such happy reports about this whole deal from the people I love in Peru as well. 🙂 Bendiciones Cuñadita. Chao!

  2. Catherine- I am so proud of you and I know that God has so much in store for you. Blessings on the whole journey! I look forward to following your blog. Send me your address in Peru!

Leave a Reply

